Portraits: Exposing the People Behind the Counter

Portrait shooting was fun, but I don’t think I thought about it as much as I should have. I would like to go back and re-do my portrait shots sometime in the future.

When I go back I want to explore the subject in different environments and try to capture their personality better with a variety of angles and lighting.

I feel like this assignment came quickly and I didn’t give it the attention it deserved, but I tried my best to capture someone I thought was interesting.

I shot a local downriver barista, Kaitlyn Szwed, who has created almost half of the new drinks on the menu at City Coffeehouse. Some of these drinks include the Toasted Coconut latte, the Samoa Latte, Heart Palpitations in a Cup and the S’mores Mocha Frappuccino.

She is one of the youngest workers to contribute so many fresh and new ideas that will allow City Coffeehouse to offer something their competitors don’t, and no other employee has taken such initiative to create something for the menu.

I think I should have tried shooting some pictures of Katie outside to use better and natural lighting to my advantage, because like most coffee bars, City was dimly lit. My ISO was high, making my shots grainy.

If I could go back and do this differently I would have definitely tried to shoot a picture of Kaitlyn standing outside in front of the windows of City, and I would have taken more time to find her best angles to capture her bright personality.

I know I can really improve on portraits and I want to take my camera to every event I attend in the near future. I want to capture the people that catch my eye and gain more experience.

I feel like capturing true emotion and personality is something I want to continuously work on because I want to show raw and real life in an image. I know I’m far from that, but I’m ready to keep working on my portfolio and to capture dynamic lifestyles throughout this summer to maintain my online presence.

Leave a Reply

